Chaos Groove Demo no. 2

Chaos Groove Screenshot

Here is what you’ve been waiting for, Demo number 2!

There are still some issues with this that I haven’t had time to add or fix yet:

  • Magic Wood trees can only be entered by the wizard who cast them. They are also attacked and shot as if they were normal creatures.
  • The AI doesn’t yet cast Raise Dead.
  • Wizard movement for the AI is a bit broken, sometimes it attacks when it doesn’t need to, and othertimes doesn’t. Also the AI doesn’t have code to deal with dismounting. But at least the AI now tries to ride creatures and get in trees.

Pressing the right mouse button over an empty board square will now highlight all creatures by their wizard’s colour..

Oh, The game now uses a text file: Display.ini to open a screenmode. The default option is to try to open a fullscreen screenmode of 1280 x 1024 using OpenGL. If this is not suitable for you then please edit the display.ini file to pick a screenmode that works better for you.

I’m sure I’ve missed something, but enjoy some of the new spells, and the better AI wizards!

http://www.reflectedgames.com/ChaosGroove_Demo.zip

23 Responses to “Chaos Groove Demo no. 2”

  1. OICW Says:

    Good job, I’ve been waiting for this. Downloading now.

  2. OICW Says:

    Ok, played it and twice got my butt kicked :-/ Everything else is fine and those new features are really cool and helpfull. Just one thing to add – maybe you should add resting somewhere, because after some time my laptop spinned up fan and it sounded like vacuum cleaner, but I know it’s just a demo, but damn good demo.

  3. kreezer Says:

    I like intelligent selection, highlighting and pathfinding. It speeds up the flow of the game no end.

    The computer beat me twice also which is frustrating!

  4. Ash Says:

    This is top stuff.

    Glad all the rain we’ve been having has had a positive effect in some way!

  5. happymonster Says:

    I’m pleased people like it! You should see what it’s like playing against 5 other computer wizards.. *gulp*

    OICW: Yes, it will have normal rest() options, but I will put that into an options .ini file and I’m still thinking about the design for that side of things.

    Kreezer: Yes it does make things easier and faster. Features that people now expect in modern games really.

  6. Mike Says:

    Awesome stuff? The only problem I encountered was that I couldn’t cast raise dead. It said that there were no targets, even when there was a dead creature one space away. I know you said that the AI won’t cast it, but did you disable the human player from doing so as well?

    But it’s coming along very nicely!!

  7. Mike Says:

    Woops, that first sentence was supposed to end in a “!”, not a “?”.

  8. Adam Jimenez Says:

    I managed to kick the computers arse once, but overall I was pretty impressed with the AI.

    I to couldn’t raise dead.

    Some rudimentary sounds would be good.

    Great work so far tho!

  9. happymonster Says:

    I probably have screwed it up. I’ll look into it tomorrow or the day after.. 🙂

    Glad the AI is proving more of a challenge than the original. 😉

  10. Duncan Timiney Says:

    Yes, looking very lush, you certainly have an eye for presentation, Richard! I’m looking forwards to sound FX, any plans yet on how to handle them? I think the original Speccy FX are perfect and meaty and visceral but would you have to sample them or something?

  11. happymonster Says:

    To be honest, I think I’m pretty weak on presentation in comparison to some of the freeware and shareware games around. It would help if I was better at visual design and drawing.. 🙂

    I already have the spectrum sound fx, and thanks to kreezer the Atari ST remake (which is what I ‘grew up with’). So they will go in there as user-selectable packs. There will also be a Chaos Groove pack with more higher quality effects and many more comedy samples.

    I would certainly look to get some sounds in there myself, but I’d like to get the rest of the spells in there first and make it properly playable before working on them.

  12. Adam Jimenez Says:

    I had lots of fun with that demo yesterday. The UI is superb.

    I managed to cast a golder dragon even if it did get flattened by a giant!

    Some things I noticed:
    *Sometimes I would move an undead creature and I had to click end turn after I had already moved it.
    *Gooey blob and magic fire please!
    *And magic knife, armour, shield, shadow form,wings and magic bow!
    *Regular units can attack undead – is this intentional?
    *In the speccy original, once you were next to an enemy you were permanently engaged and could not move away. Again is it intentional to ignore this as it could be annoying.
    *How do you cast an illusion?
    *Would be great to eventually have different sprites for mounted units.

  13. happymonster Says:

    Adam:

    Apart from the first point about clicking on end turn, (and the last point..), all the other points are due to not being implemented yet.. 🙂

  14. Adam Jimenez Says:

    Thanks – that’s great news.
    I can’t reproduce that bug now! – but was happening a lot yesterday. Will give u more details if it happens again.

  15. Adam Jimenez Says:

    BTW in the original chaos, being permanently engaged in combat to an undead creature you couldn’t attack was pretty annoying. maybe thats a feature not worth implementing? or is it sacrilegious to say such a thing!

  16. Adam Jimenez Says:

    I can’t dismount…

  17. Adam Jimenez Says:

    Bugs

    *Couldn’t fire lightning from my tree
    *the movement bug occurs when u move a flying creature next to an opponents wall. It’s like it’s giving u the opportunity to attach the wall even tho u can’t attack it.

  18. happymonster Says:

    Adam: I’m going to have a few gameplay options for dealing with undeads, and yours is a very good suggestion!

    Thanks for finding and narrowing down those bugs. I’m tracking them down and fixing now..

  19. Mike Says:

    Squash, squash!!! Heh, anyway, you are really kicking butt with this implementation of Chaos.

  20. GrantTLC Says:

    Mate, I am looking forward to this release like Zombies look forward to juicy, soft brains. Looks brilliant so far – keep up the great work!

  21. OICW Says:

    Bug report reminds me I found that sometimes it shows up name of Wizard riding a creature when I’m selecting spells to cast. For example I want to cast Centaur and it shows (Wizard 3) behind the name of it.

    Speaking of magic fire, is there a way how to extinguish it? Except killing the caster, of course.

  22. Adam Jimenez Says:

    BUG: enemy wizards never seem to attack me with their shadow wood.

  23. happymonster Says:

    Mike, Grant: Thanks guys! 😉

    OICW: I’ll look into that one. AFAIK there is no way to kill fire in the original expect by killing the wizard.

    Bugs now fixed, see the new entry I’ve made.


Leave a Reply

