Shadow Form

I’ve now put in the Shadow Form spell and ability. There is a little bit of confusion about exactly what effects this gives you in the original game, and I think the Atari ST version stopped you getting engaged as well.

I’ve made this version of Shadow Form give you +3 defence (in addition to shield, armour), at least +3 for movement, and not affect your chance of being engaged. Like the original it is lost if you attack or shoot anything. Although if you are mounted, the piece you are riding on can still attack without it being lost.

The AI wizards will now cast Shadow Form and not attack or shoot if they have it. I know in some situations it is perhaps the better option to try to kill a weak wizard and lose the Shadow Form, but that gets really complicated for an AI to try to work out.. 😉

In the process of making the AI wizards do this, I’ve also improved their movement choices a bit. Although, I still need to do a bit of work on this.

For now the gfx flash in and out in a retro style. I’ll probably put in an option for a smoother fade in and out effect.. It’s tricky trying to cater for those who like the original style and those who want a more modern look. Something I’m struggling with so far. My own inclination is towards the modern effects and features, but I do want this to be the definitive version of Chaos, hence making it also attractive to classic players to some extent.

9 Responses to “Shadow Form”

  1. Mike Says:

    Wow, what spells are left for you to implement?

  2. happymonster Says:

    From the speccy version: Turmoil, Magic Fire & Gooey Blob.
    Also for the ST: Mutation & Teleport.

    Then I need to add in illusions & undeads.

  3. Mike Says:

    Cool! Will there be another demo before everything is in or are you going to wait until the rest are in to release a beta?

  4. happymonster Says:

    I’ll probably release another demo on Sunday if all goes well. I don’t want to release sooner than a week apart as I’d prefer to focus on getting things done.. But also, until the basics are all in there, don’t want to wait months between releasing demos.

  5. Adam Jimenez Says:

    I’m in favour of the more modern look and effects. I think the most important thing is that you’ve retained the gameplay of the original. Most of the old game mechanics are still in there. And changes to AI and UI have been most beneficial.

  6. OICW Says:

    Gee, I don’t know what to say. You’re really fast in getting things done.

  7. happymonster Says:

    Yeah, but I’m getting a bit tired now. Might slow down a bit for a few days.. 🙂

  8. Kreezer Says:

    I’d go for modern effects and features in Chaos Groove. The spell effects that you have done so far really suit the game.

  9. OICW Says:

    “Yeah, but I’m getting a bit tired now. Might slow down a bit for a few days.. ” – hm, nice. For a few days. 🙂 Still you’ll get it done in a month.


Leave a Reply

