Great balls of fire..

Somewhere in the middle of this raging inferno is a wizard who is about to die!

Screenshot for Chaos Groove, with fire effect in place.

Yes, I’ve been improving and adding new particle effects (and they look much better in motion!) Firstly, there is an improved exploding effect (such as when casting magic bolt). I’ve also added a proper flame effect (see above), for when a dragon’s fire hits something. I still need to do proper missile particle effects.. Also in place is a new magic attack effect (which looks pretty cool), and this also means that I’ve added the 4 magic attack spells: Justice, Decree, Dark Power & Vengence. Not only that, but the AI will actually use them as well. 🙂

The AI won’t cast them on a wizard that is not riding another creature (or tree, castle), because for the moment I have not put in the code where a wizard loses all his creatures. This will be optional in the game with a few variations, I always felt it was too unbalanced personally.. but it will be in there if people want to enable it.

Once I’ve got the AI to use raise dead properly, I’ll be moving onto spells like magic shield, etc.. There is more drawing for the wizard gfx for those, so it will take a bit longer.

7 Responses to “Great balls of fire..”

  1. Adam Jimenez Says:

    that looks way cool – can’t wait for the next demo!

  2. Dr Derek Doctors Says:

    Criminy! It’s coming on apace! By this time next week you’ll be done! 😉

  3. Mike Says:

    LOL, we can hope! 😛

  4. GrantTLC Says:

    Excellent news, HM, I had thought the effects in the demo were a touch weak.

    Thanks for dropping by the site – I’ve updated my article to reflect your authorship of both this and Funk: apologies for my lack of research.

    Keep up the great work!

  5. happymonster Says:

    DDD: Not quite.. 😉

    Grant: No need to apologise! Yep, the efefcts are a bit weak. Part of that is because it’s using some of the missile sprite effects from Chaos Funk, and also, I’m not that good at coming up with these kind of visual effects. I know other people who are really good at them..

  6. Adam Jimenez Says:

    typo: Vengeance

  7. happymonster Says:

    That will be fixed in the next demo.


Leave a Reply

